Human perception

This is a topic to continue a discussion that started out with ART and Sigmoid, intending to provide background not related to any specific software. I’m opening it at the suggestion of @micha.

I’m not an expert on any of this. Please, correct me when I’m wrong.

We’ll continuing from ART and Sigmoid - #62 by kofa, which I’m copying below.

You probably already know the term mid-grey, or midtones: stuff that we perceive as neither ‘dark’ nor ‘bright’: the sky, away from the Sun; grass; many wooden surfaces. When Ansel Adams developed his ‘zone system’, he centred it around mid-grey (German Wikipedia: Neutralgrau – Wikipedia ), which is defined as a surface that reflects 18% of the light. Here 100% would be defined as a surface that reflects all the light in a diffuse way, like white paper or a white wall; not like a mirror. However, in the world that we photograph, there are areas that are brighter than 100% diffuse reflections: light sources, or surfaces such as metal, water etc. that are almost like mirrors (called ‘specular’ reflections (German Wikipedia link: Reflexion (Physik) – Wikipedia)).
While our displays clearly emit light, so they are light sources, they cannot be as bright as the Sun, or the surface of the filament in a traditional light bulb. When printing, the situation is even worse, as paper is clearly a reflective surface, it cannot be brighter than 100%, by definition.

If we tried to represent light in a linear way, without compression, we may end up with something like this. Parts that are brighter than the display can handle are ‘burnt out’.

What we want is to be able to create a picture between 0% and 100% brightness that somehow resembles reality, even though in reality the contrast between the darkest and brightest parts of a scene is much larger than what paper or a display can produce.