Is development really important?

Memorandum

I have lately been motivated to return to the flawless Adobe Camera Raw editor and give up on the interesting editor, RawTherapee, which I have used with some appreciation the last six to eight months. When we - the dedicated photographers and users of image editing software - work out the pros and contras for a product, we develop an idea of what is extraordinary good, what is redundant, what is not so good - and what is missing. I have 20 years of experience as an it developer serving the private sector.
So I optimistically signed up for this discuss forum and expected to join a hall of enlightened minds intelligently supporting the ongoing development of RawTherapee, ART, Darktable, Gimp, etc.
Unfortunately I soon had to revise that image. And I need to warn other serious candidates: Within half a year your patience will be severely challenged very negatively. This forum is dominated by socially isolated types begging for action in their lives. Unfortunately they are overshadowing a number of sensible and knowingly people - including, hidden in the far back - a number of developers who seem to be protecting their creations to a degree that they up front act reluctant to any new ideas not originating from themselves.
But wait, it gets worse - a number of so-called moderators work accordingly to the latest new woke principles by zealously collecting “micro insults” committed by members they feel inferior to. Yes, that’s how bad it is. The mantra is: Don’t think you know more than me - I am chosen to share my nonsense with you weather you like it or not - and I am wearing the moderator hat!
Btw. typically for such characters they hide behind an avatar.