Lightening a area

I have a photo with a section of the background in a shadow. I would like to lighten it as I want the focus of the photo on the boy in it, and I think the dark area distracts from accomplishing that. I would like help on the best way to select it and to lighten the coloring.

I have tried using parametric selection in dt, but that has left a thin line on the right side of the shadow unselected. I have also tried Free Select in GIMP, but haven’t been able to make a smooth transition from the dark area to the light area.

So far I have just tried increasing the exposure of the area, but I don’t like the color. As I have little experience in modifying color, I am interested in tips on that.

I am posting the relevant section of the photo because I don’t wish to post the whole photo of the boy, a grandson. I haven’t asked permission to do that because it will be a surprise gift if I get it to look like I want it.

IMG_3629 191013 2133.tif (37.5 MB)
This file is licensed
(Creative Commons, By-Attribution, Non-Commercial, Share-Alike ).

If I have created a problem by posting a tif, I can change it to a jpg.

I tried using the color zones module with drawn & parametric mask, while playing with the sliders a bit. Hope this helps.

1 Like

@sls141

Yes, that helps. Thanks.

@sls141
I can’t get the dotted line to appear around the path. It does show up for other shapes.

What’s the difference between setting the feathering size by shift+scroll and by the feathering radius?

How about that? Just a tone curve with multiple parametric masking.

IMG_3629%20191013%202133(1)_01
IMG_3629 191013 2133(1).tif.xmp (1.3 KB)

1 Like

@Thomas_Do
I can’t load the sidecar because, I suspect, it’s from a Linux version that is newer than my Windows version. I looked carefully at what sls141 did, and I learned a lot from it.

Yes, it’s darktable 2.7, but builds exist also for Windows.

As far as I know, the latest for Windows is 2.6.2.

Did you look at my link?