Liking Raw Therapee very Much, but Missing Presets

I definitely prefer Raw Therapee to Lightroom for landscapes, it’s amazing how a few clicks in this software can really bring the details, and how well done things like Local Contrast and Tone Mapping are in this software. But when I am photographing people, I am struggling a little. First I miss a few Lightroom presets, and it’s not that easy to find presets for Raw Therapee. But presets aside, what would you recommend to really bring up the beauty in skin tones and the human form in general?

This software is complex, and I am still learning. I also think that options that are incredibly usefull, like the ones I mentioned, are too mixed up with options that offers little impact on the image, happened to find them by chance. So, are there simple options or presets to used when photographing people at night, for example?

1 Like

Here is the documentation: RawPedia

The closest thing to presets is Film Simulation - RawPedia
You can find an infinite amount of CLUTS in internet to suit every need you might need…

And the PlayRaw category has a few portraits, e.g. [PlayRaw] Mairi Troisieme and [PlayRaw] Mairi Further. That will give you a few example processings.

Thanks, I will read about the tools I don’t know. The UI is quite complex, but probably it offers much more flexibility, once you get used to.

1 Like

Please don’t be afraid to post with specific questions if you run into a problem or want to know how something should work to get the result you’re looking for!

You can also check any of the articles to see if there might be something there to help out?

https://pixls.us/articles/

2 Likes