Magenta cast: Panasonic G90 and GX9

I’ve been using RT regularly for about 8 months - so a newbie. I’m using the latest stable dev version - on linux Suse with an Argyll calibrated monitor.

I have a Panasonic G90 and a GX9. The poor man’s Olympus - in the days when photographs were real, printed on paper from negatives, I had an Olympus and figured if they use micro 4/3 then it can’t be all bad. The GX9 is for travelling and wandering the streets - with a 20mm lens it’s invisible under a coat.

In terms of sensor, processing, they are the same beast. The difference is in access to controls and handling.
Here’s the problem - and the must read solution for Panasonic users at the end.

For all that time I’ve been battling with nearly every image (from what I’ve said above - from both cameras) having a distinct magenta cast. Reading Rawpedia I was told that I shouldn’t need to touch the white balance and should use colour toning to rectify it, which I obediently tried to do.
I also set about making my own double illuminant profile using Dcamprof. This had a slight mitigating effect. But by no means enough.
I then started looking at EXIF data and discovered that RT was systematically around 250°K out - so I did start playing with white balance - including playing with the red (magenta - I do wish people were specific about colour names)-green axis.
Finally confronted with a particularly egregious set of magenta images and looking at one of the new histograms in the dev version, I resorted to manipulating the black levels. I found I got mostly good results from setting R to +6 and B to +4 - didn’t always work but playing with it seems to have solved the problem. I now have just to work through 1500 images applying the solution…