Marking in-progress vs completed collections

As an amateur photographer, I often have several rolls going at a time and then go back to them in semi random order (hopefully doing the timely photos first).
When you’re done with a set is there any way to mark it “complete” in the collections view so that you can filter for unfinished sets to work with?
I could move them on the filesystem to a new folder but then they disappear from the database unless I re import them.

I use the colors. Green = finished, Yellow = Needs Edits, No tag = not evaluated, Blue = Culling complete

2 Likes

I use a similar system to @g-man but you could also add a tag at import, then change the tag when you’re done

I assume you’re talking about tagging at the level of the collection rather than the individual images. I admit this would be something I’d find useful as well, as I tend to process shoots a folder at a time. Unfortunately this is not currently possible.

At the moment I maintain a separate document with a list of my folders and mark them as complete in there. Not a perfect solution but it works for me.

2 Likes

I have separate libraries for ‘working’ and ‘finished’ sets, just remove the folder from the working library when I finish and import it in the other.

1 Like

Yes I considered this but I sync my images to a NAS device with regular snapshot backups. This means that moving my images about once complete would increase the storage devoted to those backups, so I try to avoid it.

1 Like

I just tested an idea of selecting all the images in a folder and then using the move feature to move them to a new folder I created. This folder could be in the same location on the computer but given just a slightly different name to indicated that have been edited. Could be as simple as the original folders name with one extra character.

Is there no deduplicating backup available, one that uses e.g. a hash to identify moved files?