Median stacking using G'Mic in GIMP

So I’m fairly new to using GIMP, just moved over from the Adobe suite. I’ve been having trouble converting my post processing for long exposures with median stacking to something amenable to GIMP

In the Adobe suite I would select images in LR and send these as layers to Photoshop where I would load them into a stack and convert to aligned smart objects in order to do median stacking.

Right now I’m trying to align 10 images brought into GIMP as layers. Using G’Mic, I’ve been playing around with the layer filters but haven’t found any that would align my images as well as I could with Photoshop. I tried using ALIGN IMAGES first before trying BLEND_median or BLEND_average but I would get weird ghosting patterns or I would get a bad alignment.

Any advice would be great!

I’d try using hugin or hugin’s command line tool align_image_stack. Then take them into GIMP and use GMIC.

I downloaded Hugin last night but it was giving me an error code and wouldn’t stack my TIFF files. I’ll search again from some better instructions on how to use it. Thanks.

There’s a few options around to learn if you’d like:

https://patdavid.net/2013/01/focus-stacking-macro-photos-enfuse.html#hugin-align-images

https://patdavid.net/2013/09/faking-nd-filter-for-long-exposure.html#testing-the-theory

Of course, feel free to post in this thread with any example images and questions and we can help you work through it!

3 Likes

Thanks! I was reading some of your walkthroughs on stacking last night but I think my sleepiness prevented any of it from sticking.

I’ll try again later and ask for help if I can. Thanks for the tutorials, I’m gonna definitely look through them again.

One question though: do you feel that the image stacking in G’Mic is as good as what can be done in Photoshop? I have 9 images taken on a tripod using mirror up and found that the alignment to be a bit off but felt Photoshop could’ve powered through it?

1 Like