Montage combined with Faded array for 20 different images - How?

Hi,
Through C19 all class photo’s are cancelled. I want to make a frivolous montage of all 4 year olds heads myself. Ideally I can use the Gmic Montage function, which is great. But what would be fantastic fun is to be able to also rotate and fade all these little heads. Now the Faded array from Gmic always takes the same image as input. Is there a way to use 20 different images?
I’m new to Gmic, but know a bit of imagemagick.

Thanks!

Hello, yes you can. Open the first image in Gimp, then say File - Open as layers and choose the other 19 pictures.

Sounds like a compositing job to me. Why not use software made for just that… Natron e.g. - you can even go one step further and animate all your merging… :wink:

Hi, Thansk for replying. Actually I have done this from the beginning. it creates a Tiling array only with one image per page or rendering. The only G’Mic filter that I have found that enables the selection of multiple images is Montage, under Arrays and Tiles.
Or, am I missing something?

Ok, I will have a look at Natron - but I have to confess I’m more of a sound person… And they need to printable :wink:
Though it would be really a lot of fun for their heads to spin about…

@dywen Welcome to the forum! Could you provide a small visual example of what you have in mind?

As it are kids photo’s I did a “simulation” with the default cat Array image. I hope you get it :smiley: arrays_cat_full_4-1
So, in this case 8 different images should “spread out”. My idea was to open the 8 images as layers and that then they are arranged in this or a similar way. At the moment I’m manually cropping their heads in circles as the images sometimes have very bad lighting, taken with a crappy camera…

1 Like

I really enjoy this simulation.

I had fun making it!!! :crazy_face: :star_struck: :star_struck: :metal: