New to raw - hate my results so far

I am a raw novice and have not yet failed to make an image look better than my camera jpegs - I often up the brightness and contrast using faststone editor (My old micro 4/3 12-32mm zoom seems to be quite a low contrast lens). This image was taken with a Samyang 7.5mm (15mm equiv) - it is just glass, so no lens details. I tend to take on f5.6 with this lens. The pic is of a lake on the Cental Plateau of Tasmania (The Pool of Bethesda)

P1120111.ORF (14.9 MB)

I use RawTTherapee to edit my pics - and so far I have not come close to making them as good as my camera jpeg images. This jpeg image has a brightness upped and contrast upped from original.

I would love to see what was possible by experts. My exports to jpeg end up looking over saturated and having jpeg exports with low fidelity. I am using RawTherapee. Love to get some pointers, and see how people can beat the jpg.

This file is licensed Creative Commons, By-Attribution, Share-Alike.

2 Likes

Thanks for sharing. “Good” is subjective. Once you know how to use RT well, you can do anything you want, including making things look the way you want them to.

As for your result, I don’t “hate” it. It is okay. Edit Oh, I see; that was the OOC JPG. :blush:

This was the image I was dissaponted with.P1120111.jpg.out.pp3 (11.9 KB)

P1120111.jpg.out.pp3 (11.9 KB) This is pp3 file.

I prefer your colours, but the JPEG looks much crisper, probably due to the large warping caused by the attempt to straighten trees.

Lens distortion correction can soften the image. @BarneyMaroon Have you tried Capture Sharpening (raw tab)? That could help.

1 Like

Hi @BarneyMaroon here’s my take on your picture using RT 5.8 (development version). I maybe should have pushed the brightness a little further. I think it’s quite a beautiful scene!

P1120111.jpg.out.pp3 (12.5 KB)