One of if not my best Photograph.

I would like to share one of if not my best photograph I have ever taken. I am very proud of this photograph so much so I actually did a 12x18 print with the edit I did of this with Lightroom and Photoshop to hang on the wall. What I love so much is I feel I really caught the emotion and mood of the scene that I felt when I got there so it feels really special.

Being that I am still very new to editing and still exploring if Open Source can fully replace my current workflow I decided to dive deeper into the darktable rabbit hole when I re did this edit.
Compared to my original edit this one is quite different it is not nearly as moody. I tried to compensate for the lack of Luminosity selections(which I use for dodge + burn) by using parametric masks with the new RGB curve module. I also used Filmic RGB and the Tone Equalizer. I still feel I might be using these 2 modules totally wrong.

Overall I think my edit came out passable. Trying to get accustom to a different workflow and learn the new software and trying to get results all at the same time is very challenging. darktable is very powerful software still trying to figure out how to get the results I want and I will for sure keep trying to learn.

If anyone is interested in seeing the original edit I used for the print let me know. I don’t feel comfortable posting edits from non Open Source software here as this is all about moving away from that stuff.

darktable 3.0.0rc1: 20191030-IMG_0073.CR2.xmp (18.3 KB)

This file is licensed Creative Commons, By-Attribution, Share-Alike.
20191030-IMG_0073.CR2 (30.0 MB)

11 Likes

Composition looks nice, as does the exposure. Very good! A circular polarizer can cut the glare off the rocks, if you’d want to do that.

Feel free to post the LR edit for comparison, we’ll help you get there.

Yes, please!