OOC jpgs are sharper than RT processed RAWs?

Been working hard to see if I like RT…as compared to PSE14/NIK. Not unhappy with the latter, but curious to see what RT can do. I’m only a somewhat hobbyist using a Panasonic FZ1000 so I realize I may never get into the finer points of RT. Right now I just want to try some basic PP. Presently, when I compare jpg OOC with its RT PP RAW, I’m noticing that the jpgs are usually noticeably sharper than the RT RAW processed images??? My starting processing profile with RAW RT processing is a custom one: AutoMatching-ISO low/Noise reduction/Defringe/Capture Sharpening/White Balance…all left on their defaults. When doing Sharpening, I use the Contrast Threshold as a guide for mostly edge sharpening and have do quite a bit of trial and error with the Amount and Radius. I haven’t used Threshold as I really don’t understand how to use it. Anyway, I feel I must be missing something with regard to having PP’d images that are not as sharp as images OOC and welcome all suggestions. Thanks.

OOC images have sharpening applied. In some cameras you can control that sharpening.

You are applying capture sharpening, but may need some additional sharpening as well.

JPGs from the camera tend to be sharp, colourful and full of contrast. That is a part of the proprietary charm and great for selling gear.

As you learn more about raw and image processing, you would realize that the enhancement is crude and that you could do better with more advanced processors that give you lots of options. While PS/LR/etc. set their starting points as highly developed, these apps tend to do nothing to the image; so the starting point is super unappealing.