[Play Raw] Glaciers, Birds, and Seals at Jökulsárlón / Iceland

Hi,

I’m extremely new to RAW development - meaning that I now start to take pictures as JPG+RAW to have the possibility to work on the RAW’s if I’m not happy with the JPG.

This summer we went to Iceland and I took this image at Jökulsárlón (unfortunately with auto mode, there was no time for finding good settings …). I’m very fond of the elements (glaciers, birds, seals, mountains, water, …). However, I’m not too happy with the image in general: to me it looks too grayish and a bit dull although we went there at 5pm when the sun was setting … in reality, the scene was somewhat ‘friendlier’.

I would be very grateful if you could show me what you would do with it so that I can understand the niffy little tricks of RAW development.

Thank you so much in advance
Sebastian

20180829-171901.rw2 (22.5 MB) released under CC BY-NC-SA license.

And here is what the camera did to the RAW (sorry for not providing my own try: I’m still completely lost and in the stage of reading blogs and watching tutorials)

1 Like

Welcome to the forum @BayerSe. You will find very friendly and (usually) patient people here. Here are my thoughts (forgive me if I am saying things that are too obvious to you).

It is better to start with a vision. That means one should know what one want to do with a given image. (Like you said above that in your image contrast is too less and that it looks too frigid to you) This way, you can choose only those modules of a program that deals with issues one has already identified. Therefore, how good a given program is depends on whether it has the tools to implement your vision or not. I find that RawTherapee has all the tools that I need to process a raw file and GIMP has all the tools that need to locally modify a photo.
Here is an attempt at your example.

1. Vision: To accentuate the contrast, make photo friendly and create a subject of obvious interest in the image.
  2. Implementation: