Preserving EXIF through the Rawtherapee -> Gimp pipeline?

Hi,
I’ve noticed that no matter how I try to do it, I can’t get a JPEG export from Gimp that includes EXIF data. It looks like EXIF goes in, but EXIF never comes back out.

I’ve tried:

• Rawtherapee (5.3) → [edit current image in external editor] → Gimp (2.8) → [export as jpeg]
  • Rawtherapee → [save as 8bit tiff] → [open tiff in Gimp] → [export as jpeg]

Both of those flows strip EXIF from the TIFF before it can make it onto the JPEG. As you would expect, this screws up data in Flickr. I’ve seen similar threads via search, and they say to copy EXIF from a pre-Gimp JPEG into the post-Gimp JPEG, but those threads are old and I would hope that something as trivial as preserving EXIF would be doable within Gimp rather than adding a tedious and hackish workaround step after processing.

Am I missing anything? I’m pretty new to all this. Running all of it on Fedora 26, btw.

GIMP used to destroy all metadata until not too long ago. Make sure you’re using the latest GIMP 2.8.22 or 2.9.6.

I just tested and confirm that it works fine with RT-5.3 and GIMP-2.9.6.

You probably want to keep this enabled:
http://rawpedia.rawtherapee.com/Preferences#Metadata

1 Like

Ah, thanks so much for the reply. I’m running 2.8.22 which ships with Fedora 26. Appears to be the latest stable. Still strips EXIF (at least as I’m using it - could certainly be user error…)

You can try the gimp appimage 2.9.x from here: Community-built software

I too am very concerned about this question. As a longtime Gimp user, I can tell this is not a Gimp issue. Even 2.6 and even former versions would keep EXIF without problems.

To me, the most serious issue is that TIFF files sent directly to Gimp by RawTherapee are without EXIF, even if ‘Copy Exif/IPTC/XMP unchanged to output file’ is checked.