Question about automating cropping process

I’ve been using rawtherapee for a couple of months now, mainly for processing multiple photos in one go using the same edits - it’s a wonderful software and runs well on my surface 3

Recently I’ve been wanting to do something different and though rawtherapee works, I have to do it manually

This is the scenario -I’ve taken 900 photos for a timelapse. Now I want to crop the photos in a progressive manner: if photo no 1 is 38402160, I want the next photo to be 38242151, and the next to be 38082142 and so on until the desired crop is reached, eg: 19201080

I’ve been doing this manually where I open eah photo, edit the crop values and export, open the next photo, crop and export

Is there a way to automate this somehow? For example I have a separate program where I enter the starting crop value and final crop value and give it the photos to work through and I get the processed images which I can then work on further?

Hoping to receive a quick answer :slight_smile:

Hi @Chintan_Gohel This is not possible in RawTherapee, but you do not have to open each photo, just use the batch edit panel on the right hand side, making sure you have the correct image selected in the file browser.

1 Like

But I still would have to change the crop on each photo individually since every photo has a different crop

Though I don’t have any programming experience, can a small program be created? Something along the lines of:

For photos in this range, increase/decrease crop by 2 pixels for every successive photo

you can definitely write a script for that. you would generate a partial pp3 with the desired crop settings and then combine it with the general one, using rawtherapee-cli. now I’m typing from the phone so I can’t show you some code, but I hope you get the idea.

1 Like

This is what I’m looking for actually, a kind of script - I would do this but I’ve never done programming :confused: