Rawtherapee - How do I enable the film negative tool please?

Hi

I was told about RawTherapee by some fellow film photographers. I’ve been a film photographer for years and years and have typically used other tools in my workflow for negative processing, but colour film has been a challenge so I wanted to give RT a try.Especially since the newly introduced ability to process a negative scan.

I use Linux Mint and have version 5.7 installed (Version: 5.7, Branch: releases, Commit: f335efe). I add my raw negative scan (note this is a true raw scan, without inversion) that I captured using VueScan and Epson Perfection V550. However, when I go to the “Raw” toolset where I gather the new film negative tool is positioned, the entire panel is greyed out. I can’t select anything.

A fellow user said it was because my scan was a TIF scan, so I changed the file extension to DNG. But same issue. See screenshots.

How do I enable the film negative tool please?

Hey

Start by reading documentation, particularly the Film Negative page and the Getting Started page:
http://rawpedia.rawtherapee.com/

Thanks for that link, which sadly I have already read via the “Documentation” button on the home page. Back then then I got as far as :

1. Open a raw photo of a negative.
  2. In the Raw tab, activate the Film Negative tool."

I spent some time trying to find out how one “activates the Film Negative tool”, given the entire “Raw” pane is greyed out. So I’ve re-read it again following your nudge to do so, and I still can’t find the answer. I must be missing the obvious I guess.

You file is tiff, not a raw file. Just renaming the extension to dng will not change the file itself.
The tool will activate only when a real raw file is detected.

1 Like

@ted_smith

The tool supports raw photos of a Bayer of X-Trans sensor. Other raw types and non-raw formats are not supported.

Hi @ted_smith and welcome!

Would tab Colour/Film Simulation/Negative help you?

Have fun!
Claes in Lund, Sweden