Review of Riley Brandt's Open Source Photography Course

It seems that there is no topic to discuss The Open Source Photography Course yet so let’s get started.

Disclaimer

First of all, as a darktable developer I am biased so take everything I write with a grain of salt. Second, I didn’t pay for my copy of the videos but Riley was kind enough to provide a free copy for me to review. So add another pinch of salt. I will therefore not tell you if I would encourage you to buy the course. You can have my impressions nevertheless.

Review

I won’t say anything about the GIMP part, not because it wouldn’t know how to use that software but it’s relatively short and I just didn’t notice anything to comment on. It’s solid basics of how to use GIMP and the emphasis on layer masks is really important in real world usage.

Now for the darktable part, I have to say that I liked it a lot. It showcases a viable workflow and is relatively complete – not by explaining every module and becoming the audio book of the user manual but by showing at least one tool for every task. And as we all know, in darktable there are many ways to skin a cat, so concentrating on your favourites is a good thing.

What I also appreciate is that Riley managed to cut the single topics to manageable chunks of around 10 minutes or less so you can easily watch them in your lunch break and have no problem to come back to one topic later and easily find what you are looking for.

Before this starts to sound like an advertisement I will just point out some small nitpicking things I noticed while watching the videos. Most of these were not errors in the videos but are just extra bits of information that might make your workflow even smoother, so it’s more of an addendum than an erratum.