Script or plugin to help with "1970s" reddish hue

If you have ever dug out a photo taken in the 1970s and scanned it to preserve a digital version, you know about the reddish color. Caused by degradation in the dyes used to make the print. Is there an efficient way to do this with a GIMP script or plugin?
I tried several searches before coming here.

You can use per-channel levels modifications.

Would you be willing to share an image here to test out? I have often found that auto levels in GIMP has worked well for me with restoring images that you describe.

1 Like

Reptorian, I have never used that specific part of GIMP before. It’s time to tinker!
Terry, give me a bit of time to do so…

Terry, here is the original, as a TIF. (will also upload my work so far, using Color > Levels.)
PS - That shirt was gray.
KC-Color-enlarger-room.tif (6.0 MB)

col-cast-reduction1.zip|attachment
(3,1 KB)

1 Like

Wow that looks very good; downloading yer stuff to check it out.
I used Color > Levels and some Luminosity masks…

1 Like

Here my own version:

Done in Krita though.

It was a 2 Levels filter process. First one in RGBA mode, and the second one is in monochromatic mode.

Side by side comparison within Krita:

I might have overdone the brightness thing, but a simple adjustment fixes it.

Here, if you copy and paste the filter masks inside Krita onto the image you uploaded, you will get a better result than what I pasted here as I adjusted the brightness. -
KC-Color-enlarger-room-filter-masks-only.kra (12.0 MB)

1 Like

That’s interesting and looks good. Is Krita open source or other?

Here is one blending Zbyma72age with mine; Franken-photo.

Open Source.

Here is my edit using auto levels in GIMP. It also includes a slight adjustment of the green curve following auto levels. I have attempted no sharpening or other improvements as I just wanted to highlight the simplicity of color correction with the auto levels option in GIMP.