Seahorse brown/red color disappears

I’m an underwater photographer learning to use darktable. Sometimes the camera JPEG looks already pretty good, and I just want to do some minor edits like removing backscatter (dust particles lighted up by the strobe). For some photos I’m struggling, because some of the color gets lost. Especially photos with subjects with a red/brown tint become more yellow when using filmic rgb or sigmoid. When I try to adjust the white balance the result becomes only worse (e.g. a very unnatural red).

Does anyone have suggestions how to preserve the color? I have attached an example photo of a seahorse.

Original JPEG directly from the camera:

Minimal processing with darktable:

DSC_6297.NEF.xmp (4.9 KB)

DSC_6297.NEF (16.8 MB)

This file is licensed Creative Commons, By-Attribution, Non-Commercial, Share-Alike.

2 Likes

I probably messed with it too much, but I got it to this (trying for the red you are asking for). dt 4.4.2

DSC_6297.NEF.xmp (6.4 KB)

Hi, here my version and as I don’t have a ‘real’ reference, it is my interpretation using the latest nightly.

You can play with ‘color balance RGB’ and the new amazing ‘rgb primaries’ in 4.5.0.

DSC_6297.NEF.xmp (10.6 KB)

1 Like

The exposure looks a bit different in your two examples which will exaggerate things but you might in the case of this one just be able to bump the red in the colorfulness… this could make it more yellow though… there are lots of options to tweak it … I’ll maybe try later…

EDIT… less yellow ???

Tried to subdue the background while popping the subject. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

My edit.

DSC_6297.NEF.xmp (16.2 KB)

Thanks for share.

Greetings from Havana, Cuba.

1 Like

GIMP. Increased all the colours using Channel Mixer.

darktable 4.5.0

DSC_6297.NEF.xmp (10.3 KB)

Cool image, thanks!

seahorse-DSC_6297.NEF.xmp (24.0 KB)
dt 4.5

1 Like