Struggling with White balance

Hi there,

I’m still fairly new to DT and have been really enjoying 3.6.

Recently I got my first new lens (the Panasonic 14-140) and have been playing around with it. However, I’ve started to notice that all my photos have a reddish hue to them when imported to the darkroom. I’m really struggling to use colour calibration to get a similar whitebalance to what the jpeg displays (which is usually right.)

Going back to some of my older unedited pics, they have the same issue. I don’t remember this being such a problem before (a few months ago). I wonder if I’ve changed a setting on my camera by accident?

The odd thing sometimes in a photoset dt seems to get the right wb first go. I have a feeling I’m not really using the color calibration module properly. I just use the color picker tool then try and fiddle until it looks about right. If there’s something definitely white in the picture I’ll use that to pick the whitebalance.

Here’s one that has given me particular issue. It’s not very well framed as my friends were moving too fast for me!

The clouds ended up tinted weirdly blue and the rest of the scene still has too much red in I think. The raw preview got the what the scene looked like pretty well, just needs some exposure adjustments and I would want to add a mask around my friends to bright them up a bit.

Here’s my go:

Here’s the raw preview (extracted with exiv2. I might start shooting raw+jpeg as often I struggle to get something like what the camera produces)

P1080027.RW2 (18.7 MB)

The pic is licenced under creative commons - so do as you please :slight_smile:

Any input will be much appreciated!

edit: forgot my xmp sorry:
P1080027.RW2.xmp (23.4 KB)

my attempt on the laptop ( in the direction of “warm tone”)

i am not a fan of the WB of the module “color calibration”.
it always looks “wrong” and “unnatural” to me.

the reddish part can be solved quite well with the module “color look up table”.

…translated by deepl…