Thinking about acquiring my first speedlight, would love some pointers

I’d like to augment my photography arsenal with a manual/TTL flash, primarily for indoor as well as the occasional outdoor portrait.

I’ve been looking at the Godox TT685 II N (for my Nikon Z5). It’s right around my price limit, and it features TTL functionality as well as manual mode to start familiarizing myself with flash photography.

Would you recommend that speedlight, or perhaps a similarly priced alternative, or a better deal on comparable quality and functionality?

Hi Ogven,
I’m only an occasional flash photographer, but I quickly found myself frustrated by compromising on my first speedlight purchase. Much happier when I bought my second. In my case - it is a Yongnuo YN986NII. The exact model is probably not important, but having the features you want/need is, IMO. In decreasing order of importance that I rate them, look for these features:

• Given that I mostly shoot with a zoomable lens, the one feature I would not compromise on again is motorized zoom on the flash.
  • S2 mode (Slave 2) allows remote triggering based on detecting another flash: it is useful to maybe mount a speedlight off-camera and use the pop-up camera flash at low-power merely as a trigger.
  • High Speed sync support is nice to have, if your camera supports it.
  • Having a white card that can be pulled out as needed built-in, as opposed to one supplied but so easily lost is nice. The same goes for a diffusing screen - if it can fold away inside the housing, it won’t be lost, if not, well …
  • High guide number allows you to do more with the flash, as you can always dial down the power level.