Trouble with end result when fine detail in front of a bright sky results in unnatural looking results.

For some very specific situations - I’m having trouble getting a “good enough” result from darktable.

For some landscape shots - where for example where there are trees & leaves in-front of a bright sky - processing results in very unnatural results.

I’m a darktable newbie with only about 5 months of use - but have been able to use it to great effect so far - except for this one situation which I have come across often with landscape photos.

I’ve been trying to identify why and how maybe I can use darktable tools to process a “good enough” natural looking resulting image. If anyone has any tips & tricks - I would be forever grateful.

If I could understand the initial why - then I might have a chance to understand how best to use Darktable tools to get the result.

Darktable straight out of the raw image - shows the tree branch/leaves detail as a pseudo colour either blue - purple or similar. It also seems to blur such detail into the background.

The JPEG out of camera seems to keep the sky as a consistent colour and fades the detail into the sky.

RawTherapee straight out of the raw image - shows the detail as a slightly more course version of the out of camera JPEG - at least initially.

RawTherapee with a bit of effort can be manipulated to show fairly reasonable results which are “good enough” natural looking.

Darktable on the other hand can also be manipulated but the results do not look as good or natural looking. (the system won’t allow me to have more than four images per post - so I will add the Darktable image in a post below)