Trying to understand what filmic rgb does to colors

Hello,

I am new to Darktable. Since I started right away with Darktable 3.2 (still using it), I adopted the scene-referred workflow from the outset. I find this new workflow very appealing conceptually.

So far I have been busy learning to use Darktable by applying it to diverse test images. For some of my images I much prefer the result that I can obtain easily with Darktable and the scene-referred workflow. This seems to be especially true for outdoor images with high contrast, like in a photograph featuring a background of glowing mountain peaks during sunset, where filmic seems to help to preserve color in the highlights without producing a HDR look.

But in other cases I noted that the colors produced by Darktable with the scene-referred workflow look really strange. I know that novice users tend to complain about Darktable not reproducing out-of-camera JPEG colors exactly, and I understand that out-of-camera colors are subjective. But I have the impression that the issue that I observe goes beyond that. Here is an example image that demonstrates the problem. (I hereby release this image into the public domain.)

210210_145503a.orf (17.3 MB) 210210_145503a.orf.xmp (8.3 KB)

Here are three renderings of the above image:

I’m actually a bit surprised that the filmic result has rather strong contrast and saturation (isn’t it supposed to be rather neutral by default?), but this is not why I am writing this up.