Using darktable in school?

Hey,
I am a teacher in Germany and I’m planning school lessons which include photography and editing pictures.
For this I need an editing application.
I am working quite a long time with darktable. Because of that, I want to use this application in my school lessons.
Is it possible with the GPL 3.0 licence to use it in class with the students or is it just for private use only?

Kelps

7 Likes

The use of the software is free in any way. So, go ahead!

12 Likes

Perhaps you can speak with @s7habo who teaches darktable and speaks German I believe.

3 Likes

Thank you for the answer :slight_smile: .

Thank you for the answer. Perhaps he will look in this thread :slight_smile: . If I can talk german, it would be easier for me to describe the problem. Besides that, he propably knows, how difficult it ist in Germany to use such applications in official contexts. :smiling_face_with_tear:

Hello @Kelps , and welcome to the forum!

And as @paperdigits said, I have held darktable courses, speak German and am happy to provide assistance if you have questions or need help.

Free Software licenses do not impose restrictions on use and are recommended especially in public educational institutions.

5 Likes

Hey @s7habo ,
thank you for the answer.
I will contact you today :slight_smile: !
For now it is good to know, that there are no problems with using the application in school.

Hallo @Kelps , hier gibt es eine inoffizielle deutsche Übersetzung der GPL v3. Bezüglich der Nutzung einer Software mit dieser Lizenz gibt es keinerlei Einschränkungen, weder privat, in Bildungseinrichtungen, noch kommerziell. Auch Veränderungen an der Software selbst dürfen vorgenommen werden. Diese müssen aber weiterhin unter der GPL-Lizenz stehen.
Für Deinen Unterricht sollte es also überhaupt keine Einschränkungen geben. Ich finde es wirklich gut, dass Du mit darktable eine Freie Software für den Unterricht gewählt hast.

Herzliche Grüße,
Thomas

3 Likes

Hallo Thomas,