Weird edges after filmic's highlight reconstruct

I’m not an expert using darktable. I only happen to use it because it’s open-source and really feature-rich. Recently, having learned about reconstruction modules such as filmic RGB’s reconstruct and highlight reconstruction, I’ve been able to get some really nice results. However, I also noticed that edges of highlights sometimes have a really harsh red/blue/green border after filmic’s highlight reconstruct is applied. I’ve played around with the settings such as threshold, transition, and even the structure/bloom/grayness sliders, but could never get it to go away. The only thing that somewhat helped sometimes was switching the chrominance preservation mode from “RGB Power Norm” to “Luminance Y”. I’m relatively new to darktable and have never used other editing softwares before this so I would appreciate as simple an explanation as possible.

Another burning question I have would then be, what’s the difference between highlight reconstruction and filmic’s reconstruct tab, and which is better for general purpose reconstruction? Thank you!

Welcome…maybe zoom in and show what you are talking about and if possible provide the raw file in question so as to better allow analysis… I think for the most part the HLR module is set it and forget it unless you are using segmentation and attempting to tweak that… But more commonly you will use filmic and or the tone eq if needed…

The highlight reconstruction module, IMO. I hardly ever use filmic reconstruction… so I can’t help much with that I’m afraid. :slightly_smiling_face:

As far as I understand, the reconstruction options in filmic are not a direct replacement for the highlight reconstruction, but more a additional refinement of it. There is a video by aurelien where he explains the process

1 Like