Color chart dtstyle generation

My Camera: E-M10 Mark II

I have been using darktable for a while (complete newby to all things photographic), and I share the same complaint that many others do – my RAWs look dreary when I load them into DT, and I am not at a point where I can just drag that little base curve line around and be like “Oh look, even better than the camera jpg!”. Not even close. So, I had been using some Olympus OMD E-M5 styles from dtstyles.net as a starting point before editing my pictures, and it had been working well for some time. Recently, something changed. (New version? I took bad pictures? Etc.), but the styles weren’t looking right. So, I thought I would get a color checker card and build my own! Easy!
Its not. Following the directions here: (pixls . us /articles/profiling-a-camera-with-darktable-chart/#exporting-images-for-darktable-chart), I ran into some issues:

1. The edited raw and JPG look before exporting to PEM, but when I load them into darktable-chart, they are super dark.

2. darktable-chart crashes whenever I load in the SpyderChecker24.cht file that is found in Argyll_V2.3.1. I tried digging into the file for extra spaces and tabs/linebreaks, but its still crashing.

P7170340.JPG.xmp (985 Bytes)
P7170340.ORF (14.3 MB)
P7170340.ORF.xmp (985 Bytes)
I am a very technical person when it comes to computers, but when it comes to images, I am still at square one, and I just don’t know what I am doing wrong.

DT chart seems broken. I think it works in 3.6 so you install that version and the it should work…just run it parallel to your current one. There are instructions on the website for installing a test version. For now use the built-in color checker function in color calibration and make a preset… Aurelien Pierre does a video called making the most of color calibration…all explained there

darktable-chart crashed for me in darktable 4. It has worked before. And for Canon the PFM file was never that dark.