Darktable on iMac 2017

Hello everyone,
I am considering buying a iMac 2017 27" to get more real estate for post-processing. I am a darktable newbie, going through the Riley Brandt course and liking it. I currently use a Linux laptop (Asus UX32VD with Nvidia GT 620M) and when I try to use masks or after I apply denoising the editing gets very slow (“waiting…” displayed for 3-4 seconds when I move the image around or when I apply new modules).

My question is: has anyone tried darktable on the iMac 2017? Is it able to use the GPU (on mac OS)?

Thanks,
Andrea

Andrea,

I have a fully loaded iMac 2017 and have no problem running the latest Mac version of darktable on it. In fact, I rather enjoyed it.

That said, and at the risk of reaquiring the disdain of management here, I would not encourage you to spend much time with darktable on the Mac. It seems to be only sporadically supported on that platform. I have waited weeks for a Mac .dmg of the latest release; perhaps there will be one this weekend, which is why I have checked back here.

To put it in perspective, and unless I am way off, compiling a .dmg by someone who has done it in the past and is set up to do so, is a fairly trivial task, requiring little time. Yet, weeks pass since introduction on other platforms. Not the kind of commitment to my platform of choice that would justify serious involvement.

It is unfortunate because there is much development with darktable itself, and the folks here are very nice, if not Mac oriented. I check back time to time as a curiosity, but my workflow remains FastRawViewer and Photoshop…

Just came via mail. parafin made the dmg for you

https://github.com/darktable-org/darktable/releases/download/release-2.4.0/darktable-2.4.0.dmg

Wow! Call me impressed!

I will work with it over the next few days and report back here. Its about time I took the D5 out for some post-snow shooting.

Thanks for the heads up!

1 Like