Machine Learning Library in G'MIC

Hello everyone,

For some time now, I have been writing a machine learning library for G’MIC.

The idea is not necessarily to compete with the existing reference libraries, which are well established (e.g. Tensorflow, Caffee,…), but to recode everything from scratch. There are several reasons for this, but the main ones are :

• I want to understand how it all works, down to the decimal point. Because I’m also a researcher in the field of image processing, and I just want to know.
  • I want to be able to write this ML library in the G’MIC language, to take advantage of the flexibility it gives to write new image processing filters easily.
  • I want to avoid having yet another dependency of G’MIC on an external library that weighs tons of megabytes.

For now, all the library functions I wrote fit in 651 lines of G’MIC scripting.
With that amount of lines, of course things are still a bit limited, and what I can do basically is:

• Create a neural network by chaining different computation modules, which can be so far chosen between : input (2D images or vectors), convolutional layer (with stride and dilation), fully-connected layer, non-linearity, 2d pooling, batch-normalization, cloning, addition, MSE loss.
  • Optimize the network weights, by gradient backward-propagation, using batch of inputs/outputs.
  • Save/load the current state of a neural network.
  • And of course, evaluate the network for new data once the training is done.

That’s it for now (and I’d say it’s not too bad for 651 lines :slight_smile: ).

Of course, a lot of work has still to be done :

• Improve the network optimizer (I’ve read about the well-known Adam optimizer). The fact is that simple gradient descent just do not work in practice, for a lot of reasons, so a lot of hacks are necessary to achieve a correct learning.