Seaside street against the sun - Rawtherapee & Darktable

Hi everyone. This is one of my favorite shots from my trip to Ireland. It is merged from three images with 2 EV intervals via hdrmerge. I find it quite difficult to maintain a natural look while trying to recreate what I imagine myself to have seen. Maybe I don’t have the tools since I’m pretty new to the photo editing game. So I am curious what the veterans can do :wink:

This file is licensed Creative Commons, By-Attribution, Share-Alike .
Raw (created by HDRMerge): DSC02763-02765_2.dng (38.7 MB)

Edit: Opened it up for darktable.
Edit: Since some of you maybe are achieving better results with the darktable hdrmerge operation as the standlone hdrmerge application I provide the original three raw images for this hdr shot:

Edit: This is the Google Street View in the same direction

5 Likes

My attempt:

20210411_DSC02763-02765_2.jpg.out.pp3 (14.5 KB)
Thanks for sharing.

1 Like

Interesting combination. I’m also messing with HDRMerge, with raws produced by my camera’s HDR mode, and I have yet to divine the rhymes and reasons behind its exposure strategy

I had to do a more aggressive tone-lift that I would have thought, given the amalgam of three exposures separated by 2EV:

1 Like

Thanks for posting, not an easy one, HDRMerge pre-processing make it difficult to process ( cannot succeed to recover highlights)
darktable 3.4.1

DSC02763-02765_2_02.dng.xmp (43.6 KB)

2 Likes

seaside.street.pp3 (17.4 KB) RawTherapee 5.8 (Development).

With this kind of backlighting I might have overdone the saturation of the colours a tad. But I wasn’t there, so this is a guestimate.

2 Likes

DSC02763-02765_2.dng.pp3 (16.0 KB)

DSC02763-02765_2.dng.xmp (11.4 KB)

4 Likes

Thanks for your great interpreations :grinning:

I like the more bright approach for the land section all of you followed. But in this process there seems to come a bluish tint on the rocks, which just looks a little off.