White balance in a blue hour skyline shot from Cologne, Germany

Hey there everyone,

Total photography beginner here. This photo is the result of my first attempt at blue hour long exposures. It shows the skyline of central Cologne featuring the Cathedral, as viewed from across the river Rhein.

This is a jpg with WB set to 5800:

DSC_3473 Cologne Skyline with Cathedral.jpg.out.pp3 (18.8 KB)

The positioning is questionable, with the Colonius radio tower being partially hidden instead of either fully hidden or fully included in the skyline. The lights from the buildings to the left are blown out, etc etc. Itā€™s not perfect by any means but I like it.

But what Iā€™m really struggling with, as Iā€™m trying to apply what little Iā€™ve learned of RT from fiddling around over the last few months, is finding fully satisfying white balance and color settings for this particular image. (Besides those few settings, Iā€™m always applying the dehazing tool to this image, just as I apply it to most images. I find it much cleaner, the image becomes much more structured.)

Somehow, as Iā€™m cycling through all possible WB settings and playing around with color-related settings, Iā€™ve found that all settings either err on the side of giving the image too much general hue (mostly red or blue, depending on the color temperature), or making the image almost too realistic-looking, so that it appears to ā€œfall apartā€ and becomes totally boring.

The small finishing cleanup I intend on doing is cropping a bit off the left, and then in GIMP just removing all of the faint stars, the long exposure trails of Venus and maybe the brightest couple of stars, plus removing those contrails in the upper right corner.

But Iā€™m open to any suggestions and really looking forward to see what you can do with the white balance and colors.

DSC_3473.NEF (26.0 MB)
DSC_3473.NEF.pp3 (18.8 KB)

This file is licensed Creative Commons, By-Attribution, Share-Alike.

8 Likes