camera advice: travel and family, should work with darktable

I am a hobbyist photographer, mostly using my camera for travel (landscapes, streets) and family moments. Thanks to the great community here in the last few years I learned a lot about developing photos with Darktable. I would like to ask for advice about buying a new camera, hope this is OK on this forum.

I currently use a Canon G7X II compact. I find it nicely small and portable, and it starts at F1.8, my only problem is the image quality/sharpness. It is of course reasonable for a compact. I only shoot stills, and usually take time to compose, so while AF is not stellar, it is OK for me.

Lately I have been thinking about upgrading to a MILC. I have my eye on the Panasonic GX9, mostly because I have owned a Panasonic compact and loved the menus/controls, and want to start with a 35mm or 50mm equiv sharp prime lens. Mainly because I want to learn more about composition, and I find that even on my current compact zoom I am not using the tele range that much. Maybe later I will get a reasonable mid-range zoom lens, but I want to keep my kit portable. I do not do wildlife photography. I do not want to get a superzoom compact, because I find the tele image quality dismal and only good as a gimmick.

So… any advice would be appreciated, including “keep your current compact if you want to travel light”, or concrete models and lenses, especially those that play nice with darktable. I would like to keep the budget for a body + prime lens below 1000 EUR ideally, but can go up a bit more to 1500 EUR if that advantages justify it. I would prefer to keep the form factor small for a light kit, hence the MFT body, but perhaps an APS-C camera would be OK too. Full frame is probably too big, I like to take the camera hiking.

(Please ask clarifying questions if needed, I am not a professional and I may not be asking the right question).