Canon EOS-1D X Mark III captures stills in HEIF format

Canon just announced EOS-1D X Mark III with the ability to capture stills in HEIF format:

“The development of EOS-1D X Mark III is a clear example of Canon’s commitment to pushing the boundaries of innovative imaging products featuring optically excellent technology. The camera will support an all new, Canon-developed, CMOS sensor and DIGIC processor, that will deliver greater image quality, at even higher ISOs, with the ability to capture stills in 10-bit using the HEIF (High Efficiency Image File) file format. HEIF produces wider dynamic range and greater color representation compared to JPEG. The power of 4K resolution brings stories to life – shoot 4K videos including 4K60p with 10-bit 4:2:2 Canon Log internal recording.”

How is the HEIF support in opensource software atm?
This move by canon could potentially be followed by others and render jpg obsolete in a few years.

I’m no expert on this, but the following may be interesting:

HEIF is a container format, so it is partially up to canon and depends on their specific implementation. If it is anything like CR3, it will be difficult.

The format is truly amazing,

I exported this 38,3kB .heic HEIF image as a jpg with quality set to 100%.
The jpg file ended up being 758,1kB large.

The heic image I used:
https://nokiatech.github.io/heif/content/quality_comp_candidate1/compare_still_1.heic

There still lacks integration features in linux. For example there are no thumbnails in Nautilus for heif images.

The support for HEIF is OK, but not perfect.
Pro:

Contra:

• libheif is missing some important features like images with an odd height or wight. Support for images saler then 128px
  • exiv2 desn’t support it(The coding has started, I expect it in one of the next releases.)
  • that means no exif support in gimp anf digiKam
  • The compression algorithms H.265/HEVC is full with patents