CR3 and Color Management

Dear fellow FOSS and photography enthusiasts,

just like you, I want my pictures to be vibrant and rich. I recently bought a 90D, and was looking forward to play around with some RAW shots. Unfortunately, I quickly realized that my version of RawTherapee would not read the new .CR3 format. Weeks of attempting to install DPP4 with wine later, I ended up installing the latest version of RawTherapee, Another RawTherapee, and built Darktable - all of which should have CR3 support. The results have been less than satisfactory.

When opening my CR3s (shot in RAW + JPEG mode), I noticed that some images really did not look like the JPG equivalent. More on that later.

The no-headache solution was to simply use Adobe’s DNG converter to handle the .CR3 interpretation business, and produce a generally readable format, .dng. Great! I’m a pro at wine at this point, so this seems like a walk in the park. It turns out that the DNG files still look off in RAW editing. At this point I just need someone to explain this mess to me:
why can I not reproduce my camera’s JPEGs with the RAW files?

I’ll start showing what I’m used to, with the CR2 format. I’ll be using XnView, a color managed image previewer.

1. Screenshot of the .CR2 with XnView.
  2. Output of RawTherapee of .CR2 with auto-matched camera profile.
  3. Output of RawTherapee of .dng with auto-matched camera profile.

This doesn’t look too bad, I recognize the same colors everywhere, although the purples seem to go a bit deeper with RAW. I’m not sure if this is a good or bad thing, but ok. I am convinced here that I have all the information I need when RAW editing. Moving on to CR3.

[I am only allowed to post 4 images, so keep reading in the comments]

Programs used:

RawTherapee 5.8 which should have CR3 support.

ART with even better CR3 support supposedly.

DarkTable following these instructions.

1. Original JPEG produced by the camera.
  2. Screenshot of the .CR3 preview with XnView.